Visited family and had lunch out.

Posted on Updated on

Today was a typical Sunday we had nothing much planned.

I popped down to the Maplins with hubby and daughter as he wanted a microphone for his dictophone, that was easy. I am looking for a table top microphone for recording workshops etc but couldnt see what I wanted at Maplins.

Next we all went to the Skiff at Dunston for lunch. It is a nice family run pub but the lunch today was a bit disappointing, my potatoes were scorching hot but the beef and yorkshire pud were cold. The pub itself is nice and gets really busy, for me it lacks oomph. When I go to family run establishments I like to have a friendly welcome, smiles, a brief exchange of words. The staff are swift to bring out the food and take away plates but the experience just lacked the personal touch that I like.

From there we visited my hubbies folks and picked up his and our daughters birthday presents, as usual that family had been very generous to Georgina. She came back with loads of clothes, bling, hair slides and other girly things. After leaving Marks family we went to my parents and picked up Marks birthday card and cash gift.

Tonight was spent relaxing and we watched the X Factor together. I’m not sure that Cheryl Cole is seen as a god in Newcastle as was suggested tonight, and her song wasnt for me as I like more catchy numbers. Maybe a few more listens will do it.

Scottish singer Rikki Loney became the second contestant to be voted off in this series of the X Factor. Its a shame because I though he was really good and deserved to stay. Rachel Adedeji survived the judges’ vote after being left in the bottom two for the second week in a row. Both acts were great in the sing off but personally I dont think either would go on to win. The twins John and Edward Grimes stay for another week amid boos from the crowd, shame that talent leaves and they stay but that is the name of the game. If fans dont vote for you, and go for someone else then you may well be out the show before your time. It was a difficult one tonight as Louis was still away following the death and funeral of Stephen Gately. What if Louis had voted in favour of Rikki Loney? Perhaps the public vote would have kept him in another week! Who knows!!

